AVMA honors Yoho, Mahr, Cox and 8 others

A congressman and two former AVMA presidents were among nine veterinarians presented with awards from the American Veterinary Medical Association. Two non-veterinarians also were honored.

The annual awards and 11 recipients recognized during the AVMA convention in Washington, D.C., were:

Advocacy Award: U.S. Rep. Ted Yoho, DVM, for advancing the AVMA legislative agenda and advocating on behalf of the veterinary profession. Dr. Yoho, a Florida Republican, is serving his fourth term in Congress.
AVMA Award: Roger K. Mahr, DVM, for contributions to the advancement of veterinary medicine in its organizational aspects. Dr. Mahr served as 2006-07 AVMA president and is credited with helping launch the One Health Commission.
Meritorious Service Award: Mark Cox, DVM, for bringing honor and distinction to the veterinary profession through personal, professional or community service activities conducted outside the scope of organized veterinary medicine or research. Dr. Cox, founder of El Abrigado Animal Clinic in Santa Teresa, New Mexico, is a former president of the Southern New Mexico, El Paso and Texas veterinary medical associations. He also served in the AVMA House of Delegates and on AVMA committees.

Read More at Today’s Veterinary Business

Cats Are No Match for New York City’s Rats